Eating Healthy

1Corinthians 8:13- Therefore if what I eat causes my brother or sister to fall into sin, I will never eat meat again, so that I will not cause them to stumble.

I look at this scripture and the first thing that comes to my mind is stumbling block. How many times have I been this stumbling block or brick in another person’s path and not even know it? This scripture is talking about what we eat can cause someone to fall into sin, but it’s resembling the things of the world that can be a temptation leading into a greater sin or as we know it a “stumbling block”. I usually never know when I am doing this because I’m so focused on self and insensitive to others around me.

What is it that you and I do that makes us be this hick up or preventer in someone else’s life? I believe it is a variety of things but there are just a couple that I want to mention. The first which I already mentioned is that I am focused on self and I that we forget that there are true people around us with true emotions and feelings that at the sound of a certain song brings them back to that exact point of time of where they were. But to many times I want to fulfill my momentary pleasures which In return could cause someone around me to fall. I am to act in love and the law of love therefore to him, requires me to deny myself rather than to be the occasion of leading him into sin. 1 John 2:10 says” anyone who loves their brother or sister lives in the light, and there is nothing in them to make them stumble.

God deals with everybody differently and this causes everyone to be in different seasons and stages with God. Some learn faster than others, some may have a harder time in a certain area than others and the freeing of sin takes longer than it did for you. Being sensitive to the walk their on with God would be the next lesson to adhere when not trying to be a stumbling block. Ask questions, get to know the person, learn their story and see how their walk with The Lord is and this should be a huge help in how you can be an encourager and not a stumbler. Isaiah 57:14 tells us to build up and prepare the road! And remove the obstacles out of the way of His people. We are to uphold our brothers and sisters in The Lord to make their path suited for their walk.

Application- I need to show more love to my team so today I will pray individually for my team.

Leave a Reply

